This one was a frequent YouTube suggestion. My girlfriend likes’em, so it came up a lot. They are a Philly band, so they are kind of hometown heroes. What really attracted me to this particular tune was the three minutes of drone at the end.

Songwriting can be pretentious. A lot of it comes across as wither one-upmanship or cleverness for the sake of being clever. When all the pretension falls away, drone is what remains. I appreciate when the artists step aside for a few minutes and let the sound take over. Hear also: The Mothers of Invention’s “Weasels Ripped My Flesh”, The Plastic Ono Band’s “John John (Let’s Hope For Peace)”.

The Washington Post quoted frontman Adam Granduciel on the recording of “Under the Pressure”: “Clocking in at eight minutes and 51 seconds, the opener is the album’s longest track — and it could have been even longer. ‘When I initially started it in my home studio, I was playing those two chords on the guitar and it sounded so sweet,’ he says. ‘I put 13 minutes on the drum machine so I had enough room to jam. I was probably high and wanted to jam out on these two chords because I hadn’t written any words yet.'” ~ https://www.washingtonpost.com/…/war-on-drugs-lost-in…/

Well, whatever Mr. Granduciel did, it seemed to have worked out. Enjoy the tune!

Leave a comment